Women Leaders in College Sports Announces 2020 Award Winners


September 1, 2020

Meg Dowd
Women Leaders in College Sports
[email protected] 

Kansas City, Mo. – Women Leaders in College Sports announced today its 2020 award recipients. The awards include the Jostens Rising Star, Jostens Promising Professional, Jostens Commitment, Nike Administrator of the Year and Nike Lifetime Achievement awards. 
The recipients will be honored with the Nike Celebration of Women social media campaign starting Tuesday, September 8 and during the Nike Celebration of Women feature during Women Leaders X, the organization’s first virtual convention. Nominated by their peers and selected by the Women Leaders Awards Committee for their service during 2019-2020, the award recipients are: 

Nike Administrator of the Year Award Recipients:

Association/Organization Nike Administrator of the Year: Judy MacLeod, Commissioner, Conference USA 
NCAA Division I FBS Nike Administrator of the Year:
Jocelyn Gates, Senior Associate Athletics Director/Senior Woman Administrator, Boston College 
NCAA Division I FCS Nike Administrator of the Year:
Sherryta D. Freeman, Director of Athletics, Lafayette College 
NCAA Division I Nike Administrator of the Year:
Ursula Gurney, Deputy Director of Athletics/Senior Woman Administrator, University of Missouri – Kansas City 
NCAA Division II Nike Administrator of the Year:
Pennie Parker, Director of Athletics, Rollins College 
NCAA Division III Nike Administrator of the Year:
Meg Stevens, Director of Athletics, Averett University 
Nell Jackson Nike Administrator of the Year:
Tiffany Walker Daniels, Associate Commissioner/Senior Woman Administrator, Southeastern Conference 

Nike Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients:

Nike Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Ruth Alexander, Former Distinguished Service Professor in the Department of Exercise and Sport Sciences, University of Florida 
Nike Lifetime Achievement Award:
 Jennifer Alley, Retired Executive Director, NACWAA 
Nike Lifetime Achievement Award: Mildred "Millie" Barrett West, Former Director of Women's Athletics, William & Mary (honored posthumously)

Jostens Award Recipients:

Jostens Rising Star Award: Katy Keenan, Graduate Assistant, Texas Tech University 
Jostens Promising Professional Award: Sable Lee, Assistant Director of Student-Athlete Development, Clemson University 
Jostens Commitment Award: Cori Pinkett, Assistant Athletics Director for Character Formation, Baylor University 
"We are thrilled to recognize and celebrate this outstanding group of women that includes emerging leaders, longstanding executives and industry trailblazers” says Patti Phillips, CEO of Women Leaders in College Sports. "Each woman exemplifies exceptional leadership at every level and is highly deserving of this honor.” 
Learn more about the Women Leaders awards here and view past Women Leaders  award winners here. A special thanks to our partners, Nike and Jostens!

About Women Leaders in College Sports

Founded in 1979, Women Leaders in College Sports (formerly NACWAA) is the only nationally recognized collegiate professional membership organization whose mission is to develop, connect, and advance women leaders working in intercollegiate athletics. More than 3,500 members strong, Women Leaders promotes the growth, leadership, and success of women as athletics administrators, conference commissioners, professional staff, coaches, and student-athletes. Follow Women Leaders on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook @WomenLeadersCS.