Membership Committee

The Membership Committee develops and manages the Association’s membership recruitment and retention programs. The committee actively serves as ambassadors for Women Leaders while recruiting new members and ensures diversity in ethnicity, divisions and affiliations. The Membership Committee consists of representatives from each NCAA division, NAIA and NJCAA plus additional members as deemed necessary. The Chair of the Membership Committee is appointed by the President from among the current Board members. 


  • Serve as an ambassador to new and current membership
  • Actively recruit new members and ensure diversity in ethnicity, divisions, and affiliations
  • Participate in new members monthly reach outs to welcome them and explain how to take advantage of leadership opportunities
  • Have involvement in Mentorship Program and community
  • Ensures prospective new members and guests feel welcome at Association events
  • Provides mentorship and encouragement in committee participation
  • Assists with the creation, examination and implementation of new alternatives for increasing the Women Leaders in College Sports membership, such as an orientation program to explain how to make the most out of Women Leaders membership
  • Assists with the creation, examination and implementation of new alternatives for maintaining the Women Leaders in College Sports membership

Qualifications for Committee Members

Passion for the association; involvement in Women Leaders in College Sports programs and initiatives; excellent interpersonal skills; interest in recruitment and retention programs; good team organizational skills; and detail-oriented.

Time Commitment
Committee meetings of an hour each (frequency determined by chair). Other commitments may include: new member orientations, project execution and follow up, and attendance at association events.

2022 Committee Members

Board of Directors Liaison: Joeleen Akin, Senior Associate Athletic Director for Student-Athlete Developemnt/SWA, Georgia Tech; Renee Bostic, Director of Athletics, Wellness, & Recreation, SUNY New Paltz
Staff Liaisons: Kyra Kendrick, Ed.D, Director of Membership Engagement, Eleanor Lueke, Membership and Database Coordinator
Committee Chair: Katelyn Fischer, Director of Business Services, University of Pittsburgh

Committee Members:
- JP Abercrumbie, Associate AD/Chief Diversity, Equity, Inclusion Officer, Rice University
- Marisa Brisbane, Athletics Compliance Officer, The George Washington University
- Erika LeFlore, Associate Athletic Director/SWA, Florida Memorial University
- Shanika Mungin, Director of Educational Enrichment, University of Illinois
- Alex Sommer, Athletic Academic Counselor/Student-Athlete Engagement Coordinator, The Ohio State University
- Erlease Wagner, Deputy Athletic Director/SWA, Morgan State University
- Chartice Wyatt-Thermill, Director of the Katheryn Hughes Seaber Raiders Academic Center for Student-Athletes, Shippensburg University
- Ashley Summerset, Game Operations Manager, University of California, Merced