Awards Committee

The Awards Committee administers the association’s recognition and national awards program by researching and soliciting nominations from the membership and then recommending selections to the Board for approval.

The Awards Committee assists in gathering nominations from the membership for the Rising Star Award, Promising Professional Award, Commitment Award, Executive of the Year Award, Nell Jackson Executive of the Year Award, and the Lifetime Achievement Award. 

Committee Responsibilities

  • Solicit nominations from membership and affiliate organizations in all award categories.
  • Be sensitive to the diversity of all award candidates.
  • Rank nominees via voting ballot for selection.

Qualifications for Committee Members

Committee members should:

  • Be actively engaged in Women Leaders in College Sports programs;
  • Actively participate and be aware of association members and activities;
  • Understand the importance of this committee and its role in enhancing the spirit of the association.

Note: members of this committee are not eligible to win an award during years of committee service.

Time Commitment

Committee meetings are via conference call, as needed, and are typically one hour in length. Busy time is February through July.

2022 Awards Committee Members

Committee Chair: Binh Nguyen, Associate Director of Membership Services, NCAA
Board Liaison: Etienne Thomas, Director of Athletics, Winston-Salem State University
Staff Liaison: Dr. Kyra Kendrick, Director of Membership Engagement; Beth Sigman Somerset, Director of Strategic Communications & Brand Management 

Committee Members: 
-Charlie Ball Burrell, Assistant Athletic Director for Academic Enrichment, The University of Mississippi
-Terri Howes, Executive Director, Mylan Park Foundation, Inc.
-Shamika Kentish, Director for Compliance & Championships, Mid-Eastern Atlantic Conference
-Jane McGill, Compliance Specialist, cch+a
-Brynn Seidenstricker, Assistant Athletic Director, Moravian University
-Christie Ward, Senior Associate Athletic Director, CSU Pueblo
-Jaunelle White, Athletic Director, Point University