Member Circles

Women Leaders in College Sports Circles provide members who share common interest or industry specialties a platform and voice to come together, share best practices, and be empowered to impart positive change. While each Women Leaders Circle will provide participants with opportunities for mentoring, skill enhancement, and overall industry impact, the structure and direction for each group will differ. Open to all Women Leaders members, Circles are a great way to get engaged, expand networks, and enhance professional growth.

To learn more or get involved, please email the appropriate contact below. Because capacity is limited, participants will be accepted on a first-come, first-served basis.

Current Open Women Leaders in College Sports Circles:

Academics/Student Athlete Development

Contacts: Resa Lovelace, Director of Student Athlete Development, University of Oregon, rlovela9@uoregon.edu

Kayleigh J.McCauley, Director of Student-Athlete Development, Deputy Title IX Coordinator, Lewis & Clark College, kmccauley@lclark.edu

Purpose: The academics/student-athlete development circle was developed for participants to engage in best practices for student-athlete success. Through this circle, participants will have an opportunity to discuss academic philosophies, student-athlete well-being programs, and grow from experts in the field.

Athletic Communication

Contact: Jenna Willhoit, Assistant Director Athletics Communication, University of Dayton, jwillhoit1@udayton.edu

Athletic Trainers

Contact: Felicia Tucker, Assistant Athletic Trainer, Georgia Tech, ftucker@gtaa.gatech.edu

Coaches Transitioning to Administrators

Contact: Cristy Freese, Senior Associate Athletic Director, University of Central Michigan, cristy.freese@cmich.edu


Kelly Scafariello, Associate Director of Athletics, Salve Regina University, kelly.scafariello@salve.edu


Purpose: If your goal is to transition from coaching to administration, our Coaches To Administrators Transition Roadmap will assist you in gearing up for your new journey.

Development

Circle Leads: Heather Owen, Senior Associate Athletics Director, Development, Stanford University, h.owen@stanford.edu

 

Amy Heard, Associate Athletics Director/Executive Director Red Raider Club, Texas Tech University

Contact: Laura Mooney, Director of Athletics, Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts, laura.mooney@mcla.edu


Purpose: Initiated as a platform to help create awareness and further engage and strengthen the skillset of women in athletics fundraising, this circle will develop and teach best practices for success in athletic development. Through the development circle, participants will gain unique access to exchange fundraising ideas, create meaningful content, grow from other experts in the field and help Women Leaders in College Sports broaden its overall impact.

In effort to be intentional with learning outcomes and growth, the Development Circle will post HERE some fundraising insight, best practices and tips that come from conference calls and other times of collaboration.

Directors of Operations

Contacts: Katie Capps, Women's Basketball Director of Operations, University of Notre Dame, kcapps@nd.edu

Kelley Kish, Associate Director of Athletics/SWA, Nova Southeastern University, kkish@nova.edu

Faculty & Campus Integration with Athletics

Contact: Kristina Navarro, Director of Student-Athlete Engagement & Coordinator of Higher Education Leadership/Athletic Administration, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, navarrok@uww.edu

Legislation and Governance

Contact: Danie Daluisio, Associate Director of Compliance, The Ohio State University, daluisio.1@osu.edu

Marketing and Sales

Contact: Markeisha Everett, Director of Marketing & Fan Development, Georgia Tech, meverett@athletics.gatech.edu

The Importance of Mental Health in Sports

Contact: Veronica Mullen, St. Johns University mullnv@stjohns.edu and Jasmine Green, Big Ten Conference,


Purpose: This circle will discuss the importance of mental health in our field. This is a sports injury that we need to talk about in order to remove the negative stigma placed on it by society. Everyone needs a healthy mind, body, and spirit. This circle will talk about best practices that are being used in the field by sports psychologists.

Rising Stars

Contact: Lisa R. Thuer, Director of Membership & Inclusion, Women Leaders in College Sports, 

Strength and Conditioning Coaches

Contact: Cat Wade, Senior Assistant Athletic Performance Coach, University of Portland, wade@up.edu

Title IX

Contacts: Kaitlin Leach, Associate Director of Athletics/SWA, Earlham College, leachka@earlham.edu

Regina Sullivan, Executive Senior Associate Athletic Director, Northeastern University, re.sullivan@neu.edu

Purpose: The Title IX Circle provides education and increases awareness regarding Title IX as it relates to gender equity and inclusion in athletics and student-athlete welfare. The Circle discusses current topics in inclusion, current and past Title IX investigations, ideas for increasing awareness on campus and additional agendas brought forward by Circle members.

If you are interested in facilitating or creating a future Circle, please contact Lisa R. Thuer at lisa@womenleadersincollegesports.org or 816-389-8216.